TUE Committee

An athlete who needs to be treated with a substance or method that is on the Prohibited List must apply for a special exemption to allow them to take the medication without falling foul of the Rules. This Therapeutic Use Exemption (TUE) is obtained from Sport Ireland or sometimes from their International Federation.

Sport Ireland's TUE system is based on requirements of the WADA International Standard for TUEs. As required in the Standard, the Sport Ireland Committee considers requests for TUEs.

The Committee Members are:

  • Prof. John Horgan (Chairperson), Cardiology
  • Dr James Gibney ,Endocrinology
  • Dr Philip Murphy, Haematology
  • Prof. John O'Byrne, Orthopaedics
  • Prof Michael Fitzgerald, Psychiatry
  • Dr Sean Gaine, Respiratory
  • Dr Sinead Harney, Respiratory
  • Prof Stephen Lane, Respiratory