AWARDS RTE's 2006 The Sporting Year in association with the ISC

RTÉ’s 2006 THE SPORTING YEAR in association with The Irish Sports Council

Saturday 16th December 2006 on RTÉ One at 9.45pm
RTÉ Sport presents RTÉ’s 2006 The Sporting Year in association with The Irish Sports Council on Saturday 16th December. The gala awards ceremony will be broadcast live from O’Reilly Hall in UCD on RTÉ One.

Michael Lyster, Darragh Maloney and Peter Collins will present a review of the sporting year and look back on the dramatic and memorable sporting moments of 2006. The night will see the year’s most high profile sporting awards being presented to several Irish sport stars.

Irish sport has enjoyed amazing success this year with highlights including the emotional victory of the Ryder Cup Team on Irish soil, Irish Boxing’s knock out successes by both European champion Bernard Dunne and World Champion Katie Taylor, the sensational Irish Rugby Triple Crown win, Kerry bringing Sam Maguire home to the kingdom, the outstanding success of the Paralympic athletic team winning seven world championship medals and Munster’s triumphant performance in the Heineken Cup.

This year RTÉ Sport want the public to share their views and are asking them to nominate their choice for the RTÉ Sports Person of the Year and the RTÉ Team of The Year. Nominations can be submitted by logging on to

 The winner of this year’s RTÉ Sports Person of The Year will be decided by an esteemed judging panel. Chaired by Tom McGurk, the panel will include, Eamon Dunphy, George Hook, Pat Spillane, Cyril Farrell, Ted Walsh and Jerry Kiernan. The judges will choose the winner from a shortlist drawn from the public’s nominations.

For the first time the highly coveted RTÉ Team of The Year Award will be open to a public vote. A shortlist of the nominations will be announced in the week leading up to the event and the public will be able to vote for their favourite Irish team of 2006 by phone and text. Voting lines will remain open right up until the final minutes of the programme.

Special guest on the night Ronnie Delany, will present the honour of the RTÉ/The Irish Sports Council’s Hall of Fame Award to a very deserving Irish sporting veteran. This year marks the 10th Anniversary of Ronnie receiving this award and also the 50th anniversary of his historic Olympic gold medal win. 

RTÉ’s 2006 THE SPORTING YEAR in association with The Irish Sports Council

For further information please contact: 

Laura Fitzgerald, Press & Publicity Officer, RTÉ Television,

Ph: 01 208 2872 / 087 2923931, Email: